Glasgow

I wanted to like Glasgow, I really did.

Screen Shot 2015-09-10 at 9.48.40 pm

I think it was just a combination of factors including just having come from the amazing Edinburgh, my friend being super ill and the weather being spectacularly dreary (although that is not unusual from what I’ve heard!)

Screen Shot 2015-09-10 at 9.49.14 pm

As there’s nothing particularly standout attraction wise in the city itself, we simply wandered around the CBD for a bit and had a peek into some shops.

Screen Shot 2015-09-10 at 9.48.00 pm

There was a little food market set up down one of the main streets which offered all types of cuisines and looked great but we were already stuffed having had an afternoon tea stop at the Willow Tea Rooms.

One of the most popular things to do in the city apparently, a visit here was largely overrated in my opinion.

Screen Shot 2015-09-10 at 9.47.53 pm

While the tea and scones were nice it was nothing out of the ordinary, although the art deco interior of the building is certainly what keeps this place attracting customers – it’s pretty darn cool.

Screen Shot 2015-09-10 at 9.48.51 pm

On the topic of food, there’s a saying that chicken tikka masala hails from Glasgow.

While I’m not 100% on the accuracy of this claim, I have to say that the Indian food I had for dinner here was amazing and this seems to be a common theme through out the city, so definitely try a place out while visiting here.

Screen Shot 2015-09-10 at 9.48.10 pm

Glasgow seems to be a city where you really need to dig a little deeper to find some of its gems, which is hard to do in only a day of course.

Since I’ve visited I met a friend who lived here and absolutely loved it, so I feel I need to give the place a proper go by checking out its museums and cultural side.

Next time round!

Leave a Reply

