From Moscow to Warsaw..via Minsk!

I’ll be honest, before visiting Minsk all I knew about this city was that Phoebe’s boyfriend David from Friends moved here in one episode – how cultured of me.

Screen Shot 2015-09-15 at 9.14.01 am

I never pictured myself visiting here, but as my tour had to get from Russia to Poland somehow the way was via Belarus!

Screen Shot 2015-09-15 at 9.13.48 am

The capital city is probably more modern than I imagined and there seemed to be quite a few new buildings around (perhaps it had something to do with the fact that we had arrived just after the World Ice Hockey Championships were held here.)

Screen Shot 2015-09-15 at 9.12.53 am

All that we really got up to was a walking tour of the town centre and later a few drinks at a bar off the main square.

Screen Shot 2015-09-15 at 9.13.30 am

I wouldn’t say there seemed to be a lot to do necessarily, but there was an interesting mix of architecture from the Soviet influenced to newer designed.

Screen Shot 2015-09-15 at 9.14.56 am

Although only in Belarus for a couple days, I have to say seeing Brest Fortress was a pretty cool experience.

Screen Shot 2015-09-15 at 9.14.22 am

Built in the mid 19th century, the site remains a symbol of Soviet resistance against Nazi occupation during WW2.

Screen Shot 2015-09-15 at 9.14.32 am

There are army tanks, an eternal burning flame and some seriously impressive memorial statues to those who fought to defend the city against the Germans.

Screen Shot 2015-09-15 at 9.14.46 am

So is Belarus an essential must see country?

I think I would need more time here to really make that call, especially since the visa situation can be tricky and my friend and I were lucky that on a tour we didn’t have to worry about this as our guide organised this for everyone under a group visa..

However, while I probably wouldn’t have visited on my own accord if you have an interest in Soviet era history I’m sure there’s a lot to be found in Belarus (and outside of just Minsk) which would certainly be worth seeing!

One thought on “From Moscow to Warsaw..via Minsk!

  1. You have some really interesting and cool pictures of the areas you traveled! My favorite picture would have to be the mascot for the ice hockey. That was a splendid piece of color! I am glad you had an enjoyable time was a fun read!

Leave a Reply

