Brisbane

OK so I probably should’ve just called this post, the Eat Street Markets since I realised basically ALL of my photos from Brisbane are from here!

Screen Shot 2015-08-15 at 6.12.14 pm

What can I say food is the centre of everything.

Screen Shot 2015-08-15 at 6.11.45 pm

With a day in the city my friends and I started in the CBD with a little bit of shopping then we crossed the Brisbane River.

There happened to be a Buddhism festival on with some cool live music and dancing so we wandered here for awhile enjoying the sunshine and atmosphere.

Screen Shot 2015-08-15 at 6.11.17 pm

If we ‘d had another day I probably would’ve tried to check out some more local park areas or museums but in terms of big draw cards I don’t think Brisbane has a lot – although their Story Bridge is pretty cool (which we drove over by accident trying to get around the strange maze of one way streets that exists here).

We drove up to the Eat Street Markets for dinner and I immediately see why this is such a big drawcard for Brisbane’s locals.

Screen Shot 2015-08-15 at 6.12.21 pm

Screen Shot 2015-08-15 at 6.11.55 pm

Essentially shipping containers which have been turned into food stalls, paired with grass covered chairs and fairy lights this is the place for variety and value dining.

Screen Shot 2015-08-15 at 6.12.31 pm

I had Malaysian food but there is literally almost every cuisine imaginable available and for dessert we couldn’t resist trying out the funnel cake van!

Screen Shot 2015-08-15 at 6.12.06 pm
Mmm.. funnel cake

Afterwards we went to popular night life area of Fortitude Valley for drinks for a reunion with a few of my mates who live in the city that I’ve met traveling.

We check out Alfred and Constance, a cool bar which is basically an old Victorian style house that has great music – so we spent the night dancing away here!

2 thoughts on “Brisbane

Leave a Reply

