OBB – Review

There are two main train companies which will get you to and from Vienna to Salzburg which is the route I took with OBB or the Austrian Federal Railway (the other is Westbahn for reference).

Screen Shot 2015-06-18 at 8.26.37 pm

The journey took around 2 and a half hours and included the best train wifi I’ve ever experienced for free on board (yay!!).

Since I completely decided to go to Salzburg last minute and booked on the day it was a great deal more in price than if you purchase your ticket far in advance, which I would recommend doing to save money.

Screen Shot 2015-06-18 at 8.32.15 pm

As I didn’t have a reserved seat I had to move around a few times when passengers got on but it wasn’t too big a deal.

The seats on the train are modern and clean, for such a short journey I was more than comfortable.

OBB has many regional services through out Austria with connections to other major European cities such as Prague or Bologna/Pisa.

Screen Shot 2015-06-18 at 8.32.08 pm
All images: oebb.at

If you have a European rail pass then you can use it with their services too.

I was really happy with my journey with OBB and wouldn’t hesitate to use them again if I ever find myself back in Austria.

oebb.at

Leave a Reply

