Cardiff

As I walked through the capital and largest city of Wales, I happened upon many cute and hidden arcades which represent my general feeling on the city.

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 4.58.07 pm

It’s the sort of place where there’s not a lot specifically to do in terms of sites to visit, you easily get the impression that behind the everyday scenes, there’s some cool stuff waiting to be discovered.

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 4.59.39 pm

With only a couple days I sadly can’t say that I got to know much about Cardiff’s secrets, but I still had a chance to see a few nice things here, starting with Queens Street.

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 4.59.31 pm

One of the most central points  in the city where you’ll find a wide array of shops, in this area of town you’re bound to see a few places selling lovespoons.

Screen Shot 2015-03-20 at 1.41.50 pm
Image: welshlovespoon.com

The tradition dates back to the 16th century when giving one of these would be a token of affection since the skill to fashion a lovespoon out of a single piece of wood is of course, quite a feat.

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 4.58.37 pm

I was very lucky to be staying extremely central in town at the Holiday Inn, literally right across the road in fact from Cardiff Castle.

The actual buildings began with the Normans around the 11th century on the site which previously was used during Roman times for defence.

I thought Cardiff Castle was especially interesting since I’ve never seen a castle so close to a city centre.

What was more interesting is that I later witnessed an undercover cop pretend to buy drugs from a dealer right outside the entrance, when patrol cars came out of nowhere, surrounded the men and an arrest was made.

This all happened near the flags in the above picture, exciting stuff for an otherwise quiet place!

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 4.58.24 pm

Cardiff also has the St Fagans National History Museum and National Museum Cardiff for those interested in learning more about this city’s past.

Besides the castle, also close to my hotel was Millennium Stadium (in fact I could see it from my room) which is a fairly new site that hosts a variety of sporting events, including the country favourites of football and rugby.

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 4.58.48 pm
Millennium Stadium

A short walk away is Bute Park, which is a lovely green space to simply relax or grab a cup of tea in the afternoon at the little café near its entrance. From here you can also catch a small boat to Cardiff Bay.

Cardiff Bay is a cool place to hang around or have a bite to eat and you’ll know you’re nearby when you spot this.

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 4.59.23 pm
Millenium Centre

The Millennium Centre is an awesome building which houses an assortment of arts events. The giant letters spell out ‘In These Stones Horizons Sing’ in both English and Welsh.

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 4.59.12 pm
Cardiff Bay

My brother is a huge Doctor Who fan so I had to snap this picture when I went past the Doctor Who Experience.

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 4.59.00 pm

It is a popular attraction, with some fans even come down from London on day trips just to visit!

I’m not so keen on the show myself so I probably wouldn’t have visited even if the experience hadn’t been closed while I was there.

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 4.59.51 pm

I’ll conclude my post with a somewhat unrelated highlight/major discovey from Cardiff and something I like to share with other Pimms enthusiasts (should you happen to be one also) – the UK sells this awesome drink in pre-mixed cans.

Australia, please take note and follow!

Leave a Reply

