Assisi

There is a term known among many travellers in Europe – ABC.

I get why people throw it around because it’s hard not to see yet Another Bloody Church almost everywhere you go in some countries on this continent, especially among the highly Catholic population of Italy.

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 5.08.21 pm
Basilica di San Francesco, in the distance and the town of Assisi

While I wouldn’t classify myself as overly religious I have to disagree with this sentiment towards churches because even though I must’ve walked into over 100 of them while I was away, I never ceased to be taken in awe by the craftmanship that goes into these structures.

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 5.07.14 pm

Some churches and cathedrals are hundreds of years old and the level of detail given to them is mind-blowing.

On that note, the town of Assisi located in the Umbria region of central Italy, is famous for being the birth and burial place of St. Francis hence the naming behind the Basilica di San Francesco.

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 5.06.29 pm
Basilica di San Francesco

There is no photography allowed inside so you may just have to google this one but trust me – it’s beautiful.

If you walk through Assisi from the Basilica, past the centre of town with the charming Piazza del Comune you’ll reach the Santa Chiara.

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 5.07.24 pm
Piazza del Commune

Saint Clare was another well liked and known saint who has a large attachment to the town and the Santa Chiara houses her remains.

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 5.08.04 pm
Santa Chiara

Besides the large concentration of churches for a fairly small place, Assisi had some delicious looking cafés and bakeries.

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 5.07.48 pm

I found one place serving pistachio flavoured canoli’s and couldn’t resist. They even had nice coffee! Why is that a big deal you may ask…it’s Italy and they know coffee right?

While the Italians are second to none when it comes to espresso, finding a cappuccino or latte isn’t that easy because the locals really don’t drink them!

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 5.08.39 pm

As the photos depict, it was a fairly overcast day for July and while I was on a walking tour of the town it started bucketing down.

Luckily it didn’t last for too long though!

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 5.08.51 pm

Oh and this was the view from my hotel room later that day when I checked in.

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 5.06.01 pm

Could’ve definitely been worse!

Here’s a few more snaps from around Assisi..

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 5.06.16 pm

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 5.07.02 pm

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 5.07.30 pm

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 5.07.41 pm

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 5.08.30 pm

4 thoughts on “Assisi

  1. Reminds me of some fellow travelers I met in Thailand–many people there seem to get burnt out on all the temples, and after a while they start to think they all look the same. But for me, I feel like I could see an endless amount of temples, churches and castles and still want more!

  2. Funny! When I lived in Australia it was ABB – Another bloody beach. Yet, I never got tired of any of the beaches. I never made it out west, but in Tasmania, you could hike to a 7 mile beach with not a soul in sight. How can anyone get tired of that!

    • I’ve never heard of ABB before that’s hilarious! 🙂

      I might be biased as an Australian, but I can’t disagree with you – our beaches are amazing no one could ever get sick of them!

Leave a Reply

