Salamanca

En route to Madrid my group spent a few hours in Salamanca.

Screen Shot 2015-03-08 at 6.05.36 pm

Obviously this time is nowhere near enough to see a place thoroughly but I tried to run around and take in as much as possible nonetheless!

Even though I’m normally very good at remembering the locations of sites, as a result of being a bit rushed I can’t remember exactly where I took each picture but I hope you enjoy my mismatched photo collection of the beautiful town of Salamanca all the same.

Screen Shot 2015-03-08 at 6.05.22 pm

As you can see from the severe lack of any greenery in these pictures, I mainly stuck to the UNESCO heritage listed Old Town because I thought it was simply amazing – all of its buildings are so intricately carved.

Screen Shot 2015-03-08 at 6.05.13 pm

Like someone did this by hand meanwhile, I can’t even draw a stick figure on a piece of paper.

Screen Shot 2015-03-08 at 6.05.43 pm

Before I prove absolutely useless in providing any suggestions on what to do in Salamanca, these photos all came from either the University of Salamanca, the Old Cathedral and the New Cathedral.

Screen Shot 2015-03-08 at 6.05.49 pm

The University of Salamanca was founded in 1218 and is the oldest in Spain and among the longest running in all of Europe.

If I had the choice of where to study in the world I’d certainly rank this awesome place high of the list!

Screen Shot 2015-03-08 at 6.05.30 pm

While many Spanish cities have a Plaza Mayor I thought the one in Salamanca topped the one I would see later that day in Madrid by a long shot.

Obviously not in terms of size, but in character and atmosphere. It’s a great spot to hang around and have a drink or meal and just people watch.

Screen Shot 2015-03-08 at 6.05.04 pm

Also, I had the best frozen yoghurt ever from a place in Plaza Mayor.

It’s a perfect way to temporarily escape the harsh Spanish heat!

Screen Shot 2015-03-08 at 6.05.59 pm

Leave a Reply

