Lake Garda

Lake Garda is the largest lake in Italy and the small towns which reside next to it have got a laid back sophistication about them.

I felt as though I could imagine it as the backdrop to a classic 1950s film. It’s as if an Audrey Hepburn character wouldn’t look out of place for a second here.

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 5.19.26 pm

It’s not too far from major towns such as Verona, Milan and Venice. We took a ferry across the lake and what struck me was the fantastic blue of its water.

Stopping in for lunch with my tour, a few of us tried a local dish, which unfortunately I can’t remember the name of but it was essentially a large bruschetta.

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 5.19.39 pm

We gave an Italian favourite, the bright orange Aperol spritz cocktail, a go while we enjoyed the scenery.

I don’t know if it’s just the one I got but this drink was a strong one for the middle of the day!

This was the kind of views we had while we ate, not too shabby.

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 5.19.08 pm

Afterwards we strolled the small town for a little while just browsing the cute gift stores, since Lake Garda was only a stop on our way to Venice.

I could totally imagine myself having a few lazy days here in future though, it’s definitely on the one-day-I’ll-be-back list!

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 5.20.00 pm

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 5.19.19 pm

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 5.19.46 pm

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 5.19.33 pm

Screen Shot 2015-03-07 at 2.41.19 pm

Leave a Reply

