The Liebster Award

Screen Shot 2015-03-02 at 5.12.36 pm

I’d like to thank Rachel at The Long Way Home for this nomination.

I enjoy reading about the extremely varied desintations she has visited and find her writing style easy and interesting to follow. I’m particularly fascinating by how much she enjoyed living in Canberra, the capital of Australia, which is largely skipped by Australians in regards to vacations but she’s made me reconsider!

Being fairly new to blogging still I had never heard of the Liebster Award before, which aims to promote awareness to small blogs of around 200 followers or less. These are the basic rules, although like most things on the web it can vary depending on the post.

– Each nominee must link back to the person who nominated them.
– Answer the 11 questions given to you by the nominator.
– Nominate 3 other small blogs.
– Create 11 questions for the nominees to answer.
– Let the nominees know they have been nominated.

Here are my responses to the questions Rachel posed.

1. When you visit a country what takes your interest most: Food, people, history, architecture or the great outdoors?

While I’m definitely interested in all of these aspects when I travel, I would say food and people are probably top of the list!

2. What is the most memorable trip you took as a child?

This is actually a funny question since my family never really went on vacations as such. We lived in the USA and Switzerland for a time while I was young and so when we travelled it was mostly just road trips within them. Coming from Australia, the difference in scenery within both of these countries kind of felt like we were on a permanent vacation a lot of the time anyway while we lived there!

I always loved Lake Tahoe, California in particular though and have fond memories of skiing there but it’s equally as beautiful in the summer too.

3. Where are you travelling to next, and why?

I’m going to Malaysia for my next trip. It has a bit of everything to offer – stunning beaches, amazing food, heritage towns, natural beauty and wildlife and still a large city offering in Kuala Lumpur. I can’t wait!

4. Mountains, ocean, desert or jungle?

All of these! I think that spending most of my life near the coast in Australia though I would have to say ocean is probably number one on this list.

5. Do you use a certain brand of guidebook to plan you travels?

I’ve actually only recently started using actual guidebooks, prior to this I really just relied on the internet and my own knowledge from my travel agent days. My favourite would probably be Rough Guides, although I have a couple of your standard Lonely Planet guides too.

6. What was your worst travel experience?

There’s probably a good few of these I could share, one of which involves two weeks of limping around Turkey due to a quad bike accident but luckily none have ever been too bad.

One of my worst experiences though was actually bobsledding in Norway. That sounds so fun you might say (and it was for some people) but NOTHING about this experience was enjoyable to me.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the need for speed type of activities but as my head banged around in this bobsled going almost 100km/hr, as I struggled to keep the contents of my stomach I can safely say I’m glad I tried it but never again!

7. Where in the world have you found people most welcoming?

Every country I’ve visited there has been generous and welcoming people, although I really noticed in Northern Ireland that everyone was just so friendly.

My friends and I stood outside our hotel for 5 minutes just chatting about where we wanted to head out to that day, while during this time three separate individuals stopped and asked if we needed help finding anywhere and throwing some local tips at us too!

8. You’re given a car for free: What is your dream road trip?

Starting from New York, driving down the east coast of the USA and ending up in New Orleans. Preferably in either a 1960s red Ford Mustang or black Chevy Impala if we’re being real descriptive 🙂

9. Where do you find travel inspiration while at home?

When I’m at home I find travel inspiration from the blogs I follow, travel articles online and also from my friends who are on continued travels or living abroad with their amazing Facebook and Instagram posts.

If I’m ever home and have nothing to do I usually try and catch an episode of a travel show too on TV.

10. Do you have any phobias, and have they affected your adventures?

Yes, I am insanely scared of flying on airplanes. Obviously, this is impractical when you love to travel and I just get on them anyway. Although on board I will have my noise cancelling headphones on pretending I’m anywhere else and never ever sleep during the journey!

11. Hot or cold destinations?

I think there’s some destinations that are beautiful during winter but I definitely have to say hot is my preferred. Less packing is involved and it’s easier to get around during the day and stay motivated to see more too in my opinion.

My nominations

Kaitlyn from Wayfarerkate.

I have really been enjoying Kaitlyn’s posts and love how she captures that anxious feeling in your 20s between trying to feed your wanderlust but also worrying about the expectations around the ‘real world’ that awaits in her post ‘Does travel have an expiration date?’

I plan to visit a lot more of South East Asia later this year and am considering teaching abroad when I finish my teaching degree (although choosing where in the world will be a fun challenge!) and she writes on both these subjects, which I have found really useful.

Andrea from No Money, Will Travel.

I came across Andrea’s blog a little while ago now and enjoy her to the point, money saving tips on some fantastic locations. Being from Canada, which I am itching to get to, makes for a pleasant read too when she posts about her home country.

Also worthy of mention, I have recently been enjoying Kate’s blog Travel Far Eat Well too and particularly her focus on the mid west USA and its natural beauty which I have yet to visit, but as Rachel nominated her already I won’t put her on the spot twice (unless you’d like to answer some more questions!) 🙂

These are my questions ladies.

1. What is your most memorable travel experience so far?

2. If you could only eat one type of cuisine for the rest of your life which would it be?

3. Where would you most like to visit next and why?

4. How do you find your travel inspiration?

5. What’s the craziest situation you’ve found yourself in while overseas?

6. Do you speak any other languages? If you could choose to be fluent in one tomorrow, which would you pick?

7. You arrive to a new destination, what’s the first thing you always do or see before you leave?

8. What is your favourite travel memory from your childhood?

9. If you had to be stuck with the same person and travel with them continuously for a year (alive or dead) who would you have with you?

10. How has travel changed your perspective compared to the way you perhaps viewed the world and/or yourself before?

11. Is there a destination you’d recommend to anyone in a heartbeat and never get sick of visiting?

Leave a Reply

