Dubrovnik

I must be the only person in the world who hasn’t seen Game of Thrones. This only seemed to be a problem in Dubrovnik, where it’s hard to escape a mention of it, since the TV show is filmed here.

Before you scold me like every other person who finds this atrocious news out I’d just like to say that it’s on my to watch list, really! (I’ll get there eventually..)

Screen Shot 2015-02-23 at 8.35.31 pm

While I may not know any of the story line, I have to give the show’s creators props for choosing such a stunning location.

Summer time here is truly delightful, when you’re not battling the daily cruise ship influx into the Old Town.

Screen Shot 2015-02-23 at 8.35.22 pm

Old Town is a fantastic area and the place to stay if you want to be centrally located, but it does mean having to deal with A LOT of tourists during peak season.

Screen Shot 2015-02-23 at 8.35.59 pm

One time it actually took us a good 20 minutes just to push our way through the entrance into Old Town. If this doesn’t sound too pleasant for you then perhaps consider staying outside the city walls.

The wall itself is probably the top thing to see and justifiably so, it is UNESCO heritage listed and has been in the form you see today since approximately the 14th century.

Screen Shot 2015-02-23 at 8.34.33 pm

At around 25m high and covering almost 2000m in total length around, it’s pretty darn impressive.

Unfortunately, during the 1990s and the Croatian War of Independence there was a lot of buildings within Old Town that were destroyed or damaged and you can tell this by the different shading in the roofs.

Screen Shot 2015-02-23 at 8.34.07 pm

You can walk the entire way around the city on top of the wall and it was by far my most favourite thing to do here. If you’re there in summer though try and go earlier in the day to not only beat the crowds but also escape the heat.

Screen Shot 2015-02-23 at 8.34.25 pm

I’d suggest kayaking around the city too and admiring the wall from a different angle. The people who ran the tour were quite nice and surprise surprise, have been extras on GOT. Maybe I’ll spot them when I finally watch it!

Screen Shot 2015-02-23 at 8.34.47 pm

While we were out on the water it was super choppy and I don’t think my arms have ever worked so hard but gee was it worth the pain for the views! For yet another perspective of the city, take a cablecar up to Mount Srdj.

Screen Shot 2015-02-23 at 8.36.15 pm

If I’d have had an extra day to play with while I was here I would’ve definitely gone to Mljet, a national park on an island just off the coast from Dubrovnik. Many local tour operators were offering day trips and the pictures looked spectacular.

There’s also a few bars located right on the edge of the walls which offer amazing ocean views and make for a cool place to hang out in the afternoon.

Screen Shot 2015-02-23 at 8.35.42 pm

There’s no shortage of night life in this city, but I particularly thought Revelin was interesting. It’s basically a regular club (popular with a lot of tourists so expect over priced drinks, average music) but redeems itself since it’s located inside an old fortress part of the walls.

Since I was there during the FIFA world cup they had set up a huge TV screen on their rooftop bar area and this also made for a great vantage point to see Dubrovnik’s Old Town at night when it’s sprinkled with lights.

Screen Shot 2015-02-23 at 8.35.00 pm

I rarely leave a destination thinking about the next time I’ll return because simply, my next-place-to-travel list is ridiculously long but I would definitely pay Dubrovnik another visit any day of the year!

Leave a Reply

